Johgina Densmore: Creating “Aha Moments”

JohginaWhen Johgina Densmore heard about the World Vision 6K for Water in 2014, she had never run a race in her life. But when she read that the registration fee provided clean water to a child, it was a no-brainer. “I can’t even wrap my mind around the fact that there are places in the world that don’t have clean water.” So she took the plunge.

Johgina describes her very first race like this: “Crossing the finish line really was euphoric. I was 49 at the time and crossing the finish line was something I never thought I would be able to do. And the bigger impact for me was that this was really going to help somebody. I thought to myself, I’ve never done this before. But some kid has to do this every day. Some mother has to do this. So that helped me know I could get through it.” 

From that point on, Johgina talked about the 6K to all of her friends and coworkers and the next year brought a team of 15 people to the race.

While picking up their race bibs, Johgina’s friend started to cry. After the race, she told Johgina, “Thank you so much for inviting me. I didn’t even know.” And Johgina realized that one of the best parts of the 6K was seeing her friends be exposed to needs in other parts of the world. “I get to say, ‘Let me tell you what you can do to make a huge impact,’ and it becomes an aha moment for them. It’s the bib that matters.”

Johgina's Team“My personal mission statement is to help people grow,” said Johgina. “If I’m training leaders at work or at church, I talk about the value of people. So I think the same way with the 6K. It is about the value of life and the value of children.

This year Johgina took it to the next level again and invited her whole church—Apostolic Faith Church in Chicago—to participate. They are aiming for a team of 200! And all because Johgina went to her pastor and said, “If I can do it, anyone can do it. The cause is amazing—that a small registration can really make an impact on children.” 

Thank you, Johgina, for creating “aha moments” and being a passionate advocate for children in need of clean water!

If you’d like to join Johgina at the 6K for Water in Chicago this summer, register here! You can also do it in the Twin Cities or Northwest Indiana

2 thoughts on “Johgina Densmore: Creating “Aha Moments”

  1. Sunshine – you continue to amaze and inspire! Your story affirms how God continues to use you to touch the lives of others. Your unwavering faith combined with your deep desire to help others grow is a powerful and winning combination. May God continue to bless you and allow you to share His Almighly Light through your remarkable example!

  2. Densmore, pretty soon there is not going to be room on that crown of yours for all of the good things you have done and continue to do. May God’s Grace and Mercy continue to be your strength. Much love.

    Phyl

Have some encouragement?

